Uncategorized

Baby probiotics and donor milk

We have had an issue with Dax’s pooping schedule…I know, TMI. But seriously, this kid poops less than once a week. And now he is starting solids, so it’s less in quantity. He hasn’t been constipated by any means, but he isn’t comfortable.

I never thought of giving my kids Probiotics. Never crossed my mind.

I had to stop at Whole Foods today to pick up a few nursing supplements because I am pumping and sending my extra milk to my nephew. While I was there, I happened to walk by the probiotics. I asked the lady there a few questions and she had tons of answers for me! Thank god. She helped my pick out a good one for kids and babies older than 3 months. I gave him 1/4 tsp at lunch time and he has already pooped twice today!!! That NEVER happens!!! Hopefully this works for him!

Back to the donor milk…our preemie nephew is 6 days younger than Dax. They were supposed to be 8 or 9 weeks apart and aren’t. He isn’t dealing with formula well. He has had tons of issues with it. My sister in law lost her supply when she started working again. She texted me the other day and asked if I had a milk stock and I don’t. But I have pumping and pumping to build up my supply so I can send her milk.

Now, the last couple of days have been slow going. A few times I have even dry pumped just to try and trick my body into thinking it needs to “over supply” it with milk. I am hoping the trick works. Sometimes I get lucky during a dry pump and get a couple of ounces. Today has been the worst. I don’t know if it’s because Dax has been cluster feeding or if I just haven’t been able to sit down and hit it hard. I did get a few ounces this morning, but that’s about it.

I picked up so Mother Love-More Milk Plus supplement and some Fenugreek. I had really good luck with the fenugreek with Milah, so I am hoping this time is good too! I have never used the More Milk Plus, but it has great reviews! I already use and LOVE the herbal teas for lactation, so I grabbed another box of that! Wish me luck!

We are visiting them this weekend and I am hoping to get some one on one time with him and maybe he will motivate the girls to get grinding!!! I will be doing some serious skin to skin with Dax though to help!!!

Leave a Reply

