My experience with Placenta Encapsulation so far

I got my capsules back about a week after I delivered Dax. I was so nervous about the thought of taking them but I eventually stated easing myself into it. I started slow with one or two a day and then went full force with them. Everyone’s experience with them is different but here is what I have noticed so far.

Postpartum bleeding-I was probably 2 1/2 weeks post when I started taking them, since then, I have noticed the bleeding slow down significantly! I was 4 weeks post of Sunday, August 3rd and I only have very little spotting. And by very little I mean, almost none!

Energy- this is have not noticed a huge difference. But I also chase a toddler around during the day with a newborn attached to me. I do a lot of things with a newborn attached to me. Milah was supplemented so David could hep feed her and watch her if I needed to do something. If I have David watch Dax now, I have to make sure he is full and asleep until I can do whatever it is.

Milk supply-the main reason I wanted to try this. I haven’t noticed a huge increase but there are many factors to this. We do not supplement Dax. I have only pumped twice and got 1/2 oz the first time and 2 1/2 oz the second time. I need to keep pumping to get on a schedule but I have a cluster feeder and can’t really carve time out to do it yet. I also have been trying to eat better and drink more water. I also made lactation cookies and have been eating a lot of oatmeal!

Postpartum depression-I luckily never struggled with this the first time but I didn’t think it would be an issue this time. Which it isn’t. I have been feeling great! There is a lot of exciting things happening for David and I and our little family and we couldn’t be happier! Stressful…yes, definitely but not depressing.

Here is my lactation cookie recipe!!!

20140805-105826-39506586.jpg

Leave a Reply

